Wining, Wining, Wining

Posted: September 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

Mark Cahill is an evangelist, author, speaker, and powerhouse for the Lord. His Book, One Thing You Can’t Do In Heaven, changed my life, encouraged, and equipped me in evangelism. I encourage everyone to get this book on evangelism if you want to learn more about sharing the gospel. In the chapter, Wining, Wining, Wining, he goes through the three possible outcomes when sharing the gospel. “1) The person can accept Jesus Christ; 2) the person can reject Jesus Christ; or 3) we can plant a seed.” His old way of thinking was “that accepting Christ was a winning situation, planting a seed was a winning situation, and being rejected was a losing situation”. However, he then came across 1 Peter 4:14. which says, “If you are insulted for the name of Christ, you are blessed, because the Spirit of glory and of God rests upon you.” According to the word of God, being rejected or persecuted for Christ isn’t a losing situation, it’s a winning situation! For we are blessed when we are insulted! Look at what Jesus says in Luke 6:22-23, “Blessed are you when people hate you and when they exclude you and revile you and spurn your name as evil, on account of the Son of Man! Rejoice in that day, and leap for joy, for behold, your reward is great in heaven; for so their fathers did to the prophets.” If we can’t lose sharing the gospel, why are we so hesitant to share? Do we not care about the other people around us? Many would go to hell if they died tonight. We need to stand up and be bold! There are so many things speaking against God, we have to rise up and speak truth! I can be as simple as talking to others about you week, saying something about going to church and then asking them if they have a church home, what they think about church? Always be looking for opportunities to move a conversation in the direction of Christ! I want share with you all a poem from One Thing You Can’t Do In Heaven by D.J. Higgins:

“My friend, I stand in judgment now,

And feel that you’re to blame somehow.

On Earth I walked with you day by day,

And never did you point the way.

You knew the Lord in truth and glory,

But never did you tell the story.

My knowledge then was very dim;

You could have led me safe to him.

Though we lived together here on Earth,

You never told me of your second birth.

And now I stand this day condemned,

Because you failed to mention him.

You taught me many things, that’s true

I called you “friend” and trusted you.

But I learn now that it’s too late,

And you could have kept me from this fate

We walked by day and talked by night,

And yet you showed me not the light.

You let me live, and love, and die,

You knew I’d never live on high.

Yes, I called you “friend” in life,

And trusted you in joy and strife.

And, yet, on coming to this dreadful end,

I cannot , now, call you “my friend.”

I want to leave you with a quote from the movie The Gladiator, “Brothers, what we do in life… echoes in eternity.”

Comments

Leave a Reply

