Where do I start?

Posted: September 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

Growing up I always heard pastors say “you need to share the gospel; less than 2 percent of Christians are actively involved in evangelism.” After hearing this, I would think to myself I do not want to be a part of that 98 percent, but I never knew where to start. How was I going to bring up the gospel to others? What exactly is the gospel? What if I am asked about something I don’t know the answer to?  Feeling discouraged and inadequate, I moved on with my life. I soon forgot about evangelism and the lost.

My hope and prayer is that we all have the desire for evangelism and the lost, but it can’t stop there. You don’t just walk up to someone and magical words start flying out of your mouth. Evangelism is a combination of preparation and study along with the power of God and the work of the Holy Spirit. In 1 Peter 3:15 Peter says, “but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect.” We must prepare to give a defense by studying the word of God and apologetics. We don’t need to have all the answers, but we do need to have a firm foundation for why we believe in Christ. We then step out in faith to share the gospel in love and truth, trusting in the Holy Spirit to work in there hearts. Remember, we can’t save anyone, we point people towards truth and God does the rest.

With all that being said this week I want to start out by clearly stating what the gospel is. The gospel comes from the Greek work εὐαγγέλιον, which means good news. In 1 Corinthians 15, Paul explains the gospel stating, “Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures, and that He was buried, and that He was raised on the third day according to the scriptures.” The gospel is the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of our sins.  Its our hope, its the power of God that saves, its the rock we stand upon.

So you may be asking the question how do I start a gospel conversation? Well, I think it depends on the situation you are in, but since most of us reading this are in college, I will focus this a little. In college, we meet people all the time, we talk to friends in our classes and are constantly around other people. The best way that I have found to start conversations in college is to bring it up in casual conversation. For instance, many will ask you hey what did you do this weekend or planning to do this weekend. You can then simply respond by mentioning you went to church that weekend and after seeing what they did, asking them if they have a church home anywhere. The conversation can move in many different ways after that, but now you have moved toward a spiritual conversation. Depending on their response, you could end up talking about their spiritual background, what they believe in, ect. Even if that specific conversation doesn’t immediately move into the gospel, the stage has now been set for many more conversations like these to follow and many invite opportunities. This is a simple way that you can get into a spiritual conversation with someone. Try it out and see what the Lord does!

I hope to continue to share evangelism tips throughout the year, but  I would encourage you all to grab the book One Thing You Can’t Do In Heaven by Mark Cahill or Unsilenced by James Boccardo. Also, you can watch Mark Cahill sharing the gospel on youtube. We also have evangelism classes at Shandon on Wednesday nights that you can attend, starting this week! Hope yall have a great week, lets step out in faith and be bold!

Comments
  1. […] Where do I start? (evangablog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

