Why Engage? – Billy Judge

Posted: September 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

You’ve invited them to tailgates.  You’ve invited them to coffee house.  You’ve invited them to church.  They just won’t come.  You’ve heard it all.  “Cool, but not my thing.”  “I want to, just not yet.”  They are the family member who doesn’t understand why you are different.  They are the friend you grew up with who doesn’t want it, but is glad that you found it.  They are the one who you will throw a party for when you hear that they have made Jesus their Savior and their Lord.  It is tiring to pursue them.  It is disheartening when they run.  Don’t give up on them. Engage them.

Engage because:

  • He commands us to pray and go.
  • He is not slow in keeping His promises as we understand slowness but patient
  • He hears your cry for their salvation.
  • He died for you and them.
  • Their joy will be complete.
  • They won’t always ask you about Him
  • You are to store up treasure in heaven.
  • You have tasted and seen that the Lord is good

I beg you.  Don’t give up on them.  Engage them.  You see, I had people in my life who invited me to church.  They invited me to the events.  I wasn’t interested.  They didn’t give up on me.  They engaged me with the gospel.  When first heard the gospel, my life changed.  When I later heard the gospel again, angels rejoiced.  I knew that Jesus was “the answer.”  Sometimes, invitations just don’t work.  This is why we engage. The gospel is “the power for salvation” (Rom 1:16).   Will you Join me, and Shandon College Ministry, in engaging “that one” person with the gospel on 10/14/14?  If you don’t, who will?

Comments
  1. Sarah Judge says:

    I may be biased, but I loved this! Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

