My First Time – Ellis Reese

Posted: October 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

The summer after my sophomore year of high school, I joined a discipleship group at Shandon. James, our leader, put a huge emphasis on evangelism. I had always been told to go out and share the Gospel, but no one really told me how to do this. However, James began to teach us how to actively share our faith with others, even strangers. James then asked us to go out with him to share the Gospel. My first thought was “oh crap I really hope no one goes so I don’t have to,” but everyone went so I did also. I was honestly terrified to talk to random people, let alone talk about something as important as the Gospel.

We ended up going to the Vista and James took us with him, as he shared the Gospel. He then looked at us and told us we were up. I was so nervous nevertheless, I went up to a random person and asked them if I could ask them a question; they said sure, so I asked them what they think happens to people when they die. They began to answer and we then had a great conversation on the afterlife, heaven, how you get there, and eventually Jesus. I was shocked, as soon as I asked the first question all of my fears went away. The hardest part of evangelizing was initially walking up and starting the conversation. Once the conversation began, God gave me peace and He began to work as I talked about what He had done.

For some reason we are initially terrified to talk to others because of rejection or messing up, when in reality there is no loosing when it comes to sharing your faith. You win EVERY TIME, even when we think it is a complete failure. Our job is not to convert people or change peoples’ hearts. Our job is to proclaim the good news, and the rest is up to the Holy Spirit working in their hearts and their response to that! This truth takes the pressure off of us, as we are simply given the task of telling them about our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. I hope that y’all will join me in engaging our campus on October 14th. Trust me when I say this, if I can share my faith so can you! It is okay to be scared, I am still nervous every time, but Christ is worth it.

Leave a Reply

