Power of Testimony – Hampton Harmon

Posted: October 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

Revelation 12:11 says, “And they triumphed over him by the blood of the Lamb and the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.” Ok, so aside from the general awesomeness of this verse, I think it speaks to the spiritual relevance of our testimony. Let me start off by saying that there is not one singular method by which evangelism is accomplished. There are so many aspects to sharing the Gospel, and each of them holds weight and can be used to demonstrate the Gospel in people’s lives. Some people are excellent at sharing the Gospel relationally, some are excellent in apologetics, and still others prefer proclamation to conversation. That being said, everyone has one tool that will always have power and relevance in evangelism, and that is our testimony.

Everyone has a testimony. Mine involves addiction and struggle and anger and a long time of searching for fulfillment in things that could never satisfy me. Eventually, those pursuits led to Jesus, who satisfies perfectly. My testimony has power, but not because I had this crazy past or a radical road to Damascus, blinding light conversion experience, but because Jesus saved me. Because of that, I moved from the kingdom of darkness to the Kingdom of Light. There is power in that fact. Testimonies don’t have to be filled with darkness and pain. You need not have been an axe murderer by age 12 or have been to jail a few times for your testimony to be worth something, you just need to have been saved by King Jesus.

The beauty of Revelation 12:11 is that Satan has accused the people in the passage, yet they “triumph over him by the blood of the Lamb and the words of their testimony.” I mean, because of Jesus’ bloodshed and our words in testimony to such, we can dropkick the devil’s dorky self and then step on his horned head. Not because of our crazy past, or our cool conversion story, but because of what Jesus has done for us. This weekend I got to attend an all guy’s Bible study, and there was a high school kid there who got saved two weeks ago. This is what he said to our group, “So, I’m new at this. I don’t really know much, but this is what I do know. Jesus died for me to save me from death in Hell. I’m different than I was, and it’s because of Jesus and what He did.” It’s crazy to think that he thought this was an example of not knowing much of anything. In reality, he knew everything. That testimony alone is enough to triumph over Satan and to make a difference in someone else’s life. Your story matters, no matter what it is, so it’s time we told someone what Jesus has done for us, because it could mean eternity for them.

Leave a Reply

