Prayer

Posted: January 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

This week I wanted to encourage Shandon College to PRAY. We have talked a lot in leadership about prayer and spending time presenting request before our Father. Dr. Lincoln addressed this in his sermon yesterday. He talked about the importance of praying for opportunities to share the gospel and praying for the lost. We see Paul implore the Church to pray for these things as well:

Colossians 4:2-4 “Devote yourselves to prayer, keeping alert in it with an attitude of thanksgiving; praying at the same time for us as well, that God will open up to us a door for the word, so that we may speak forth the mystery of Christ, for which I have also been imprisoned; that I may make it clear in the way I ought to speak.”

Ephesians 6:19-20 “pray on my behalf, that utterance may be given to me in the opening of my mouth, to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains; that in proclaiming it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.”

This semester, I have been intentionally praying for God to give me opportunities, for me to take hold of them with boldness, and that those who hear the gospel would understand, repent and believe. It is amazing the opportunities that God has given me and opened my eyes too already this semester.

Even this past week, God gave me the privilege of meeting and leading a USC student to Christ, through decision counseling at Shandon. I have been able to pour into him and guide him along in this process. God has been doing amazing things in his life. Yesterday in Church, during the sermon, he leaned over to be and said “thank you.” I didn’t quite know what he meant and as I asked him he said “well think about it, I wouldn’t be where I today without you.” I was overcome with joy and how amazing it was that God had given me such a great opportunity to be used by Him.

I encourage you to join me in praying for opportunities and bringing before the Lord any hesitations or fears that we may have about sharing the gospel. I am excited to see what the Lord will do this semester through us as we rely and call upon His power.

Leave a Reply

