Opened Eyes

Posted: March 23, 2015 in Uncategorized

Earlier this semester, I wrote about how I had been praying for opportunities to share the gospel and how God had given me opportunities. With that in mind, I would like to share an appropriate story that happened this semester.

A couple of weeks ago, I was stressed about a huge test that I had on Monday. After worship on Sunday night, I ran by cookout to get dinner before going to the library to study. I was hoping to get in and out of cookout extremely fast, but God had different plans for me. As I went to the bathroom to wash my hands, a man stopped me and asked me if I believed in God. Shamefully, my first thought was “oh great he’s going ask me for money, I don’t have time for this.” Typically, I do not give people money, but will always offer to buy food. He told me about his family that was waiting for him at the bus station, so I went and got him some food for his family. As we talked, I ended up giving him some money for bus tickets for his family. I left and went to eat my dinner so I could head out and go study.

As I was sitting there eating, I was suddenly convicted that I had given this guy food and money for bus tickets, but never once said anything about Jesus. I realized that God was handing me an opportunity to share the gospel and I was ignoring it because I had to study! I quickly repented and walked back over to talk with him. I sat down and told him about Christ’s love that compelled me to love him. I told him about the love that God displayed in His Son and the salvation that can be found in Him. I then had the chance to pray over him and his family.

I was crazy to see how everyday life clouded my eyes to see an opportunity that was sitting right in front of me. My prayer is that not only would God give us these opportunities, but that God would constantly open our eyes to the opportunities around us. It’s encouraging to hear different stories of how God is working through the people in Shandon College Ministry, let’s keep pursuing His name being proclaimed and glorified among all around us!

Also, just a reminder that we will be passing out peeps and inviting those in our community to Church for Easter Sunday Service this weekend. If you are interested and want to come be a part of that, we will be meeting at Shandon Saturday at 10:30am and Sunday after church!

Leave a Reply

